The Orchard Hill Observatory is UMass Amherst's optical observatory. It is located on the highest point on the UMass campus and is home to a 16-inch Cassegrain telescope. The observatory is used for public events and for holding open observatory nights.

Contact information

Patrick Drew (Director)

Patrick is double major in Astronomy and Physics. He is currently secretary and treasurer for the Five College Astronomy Club.


Cell (call or text): 508-265-0978

Join our mailing list

UMass students can join our mailing list by joining the astronomy club here: click here.

Non students can get updates by following us on Facebook: click here.

Special thanks

The Orchard Hill Observatory is greatful for all the help and support from countless members of the Five College Astronomy Club, especially Emily Horn, Ben Rizkin, Marie Calapa, Thierry Drew, Crissy Cavallaro and Nikita Gubanov.