EHT Telescope Collaboration awarded 2020 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics

Thursday, September 5, 2019
The Event Horizon Telescope Collaboration was awarded the 2020 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics. This includes six UMass Amherst Astronomy colleagues: Sandra Bustamante, Aleks Popstefanija, Vern Fath, Ron Grosslein, Kamal Souccar, Neal Erickson, Pete Schloerb, and Gopal Narayanan. All 347 co-autors are featured in the 6 discovery papers published in April 10, 201
The 2020 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics has been awarded to the Event Horizon Telescope Collaboration. All 347 co-authors that are featured in any of the 6 discovery papers that were published in Apr 10, 2019, will share the prize equally.
Representing UMass in the said author list are the following people.
  • Sandra Bustamante
  • Aleks Popstefanija
  • Vern Fath
  • Ron Grosslein
  • Kamal Souccar
  • Neal Erickson
  • Pete Schloerb
  • Gopal Narayanan