News and Events

Wednesday, March 11, 2020

Smith College Faculty Candidate, Dr. Ferah Munshi (University of Oklahoma), will present her talk, "What's the (dark) matter with dwarf galaxies?" 12-1 in LGRT 533.

Friday, March 6, 2020




UMass Postdoc and ALMA Ambassador, Christopher Faesi, will host an ALMA proposal workshop in partnership with The National Radio Astronomy Observatory.

Saturday, December 21, 2019



All are invited to observe sunrise and sunset on the day of the winter solstice among the standing stones of the UMass Amherst Sunwheel this Saturday, Dec. 21, at 7:00 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. Heavy rain or snow will cancel the gatherings. More info:

Friday, December 6, 2019




Congratulations to Astronomy Majors and Commonwealth Honors College students Zoe Kearney '20, and Kenneth Lin '20, winners of the Rising Researcher Award. The award was given to six UMass Amherst students demonstrating ingenuity and impact within their fields of study. Both students work with advisor Alex Pope.

Monday, October 28, 2019

Closeup photo of student wearing glasses and standing in front of  an observatory




Kenneth Lin, UMass Astronomy Major (BS-Astrophysics), was selected to participate in the AAS Astronomy Ambassador Program. This workshop trains early career scientists, graduate students, and advanced undergraduates in professional development and mentoring opportunities.

Monday, November 11, 2019

thumbnail timelapse photo of Mercury crossing face of Sun




UMass Astronomers invite the public to observe Mercury's passing in front of the sun, an event that will not be visible in North America again until 2049. More Info

Thursday, October 24, 2019

Artists Representation of Discovered Monster Galaxy
PhD alumna Christina Williams (lead author)and professor Kate Whitaker (co-author), are part of team that discovered a massive "monster galaxy" 12.5 billion light-years away

Thursday, October 17, 2019

The third annual colloquium jamboree is Thursday, Oct. 17, in room 1033. The department's four new postdocs will share their research.

Thursday, September 5, 2019
The Event Horizon Telescope Collaboration was awarded the 2020 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics. This includes six UMass Amherst Astronomy colleagues: Sandra Bustamante, Aleks Popstefanija, Vern Fath, Ron Grosslein, Kamal Souccar, Neal Erickson, Pete Schloerb, and Gopal Narayanan. All 347 co-autors are featured in the 6 discovery papers published in April 10, 201
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Special Colloquia of Faculty Research continues Thursday 9/19 in LGRT 1033
Refreshments at 3:45 and talks at 4pm