News and Events

Friday, June 29, 2018

What is the summer solstice? An astronomer explains

Thursday, June 14, 2018

Sunwheel and sky-watching evens mark the Summer Solstice on June 20-21.

Friday, June 1, 2018

NASA's legacy extragalactic UV survey data released.

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Last Thursday, May 17th, an international team of astronomers, led by Professor Daniela Calzetti, released the most comprehensive ultraviolet survey of nearby galaxies from the Hubble Space Telescope.

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Professor Daniela Calzetti, PI for the Hubble Treasury project, and colleagues release stellar and star cluster catalogs for 50 LEGUS galaxies.

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Graduate School honors distringuished mentor and staff award recipients, including Astronomy Department Associate Professor Alex Pope.

Thursday, May 3, 2018

Astronomer Mark Heyer has created a new musical composition expressing the movement of gases through the galaxy as musical note, "Milky Way Blues".

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Miranda Eiben, a double-major in astronomy and engineering, is one of the recipients of the Field Scholarship given by the UMass Alumni Association.

Friday, April 6, 2018

One of our Astronomy majors, Kenneth Lin, was just awarded a prestigious summer fellowship to do research in Japan. The program is called the 2018 Nakatani RIES U.S. Fellows Program.

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Professor Alex Pope was featured in a women in science promotional video recently made at UMass Amherst.

Pages