News and Events

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Astronomers using the Large Millimeter Telescope (LMT) confirm observing one of the oldest objects in the universe.

Friday, October 6, 2017

Nobel laureate and former University of Massachusetts Amherst faculty Joseph H. Taylor will deliver the third annual Helen and Morton Sternheim Lecture on Tuesday, October 10 at 4:00 PM in 20 Hasbrouck Hall.

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Watch time-lapse of the autumnal equinox sunrise and sunset at UMass Amherst's sunwheel.

Thursday, September 21, 2017

The public is invited to witness sunrise and sunset associated with the autumnal equinox among the standing stones of the UMass Amherst Sunwheel on Friday, September 22 at 6:49 a.m. and 6:00 p.m.

Friday, August 11, 2017

The Department of Astronomy will hold the August 21, 2017 solar eclipse event at the Sunwheel. The event will begin at 1:20 PM, and will continue until the end of the eclipse. Astronomy Professor Daniela Calzetti and Mr. Tom Whitney of the Astronomy Association (www.astronomyassociation.org) will be hosting the event, and they expect to have four solar telescopes on site. The Sunwheel is located south of McGuirk Alumni Stadium, just off Rocky Hill Road (Amity Street) about one-quarter mile south of University Drive.

 

Monday, July 31, 2017

Theoretical astronomy professor Neal Katz has received a Fulbright Scholarship award for studies in South Africa.

Monday, July 31, 2017

Astronomers train an "Earth-sized" telescope, including UMass Amherst's LMT, on our galactic center.

Friday, June 16, 2017

The public is invited to witness the summer solstice sunrise and sunset among the standing stones of the Sunwheel on Wednesday, June 21 at 5 a.m. and 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Professor Daniel Wang gave an invited talk on the central massive black hole of our Galaxy at the AAS meeting on June 6, 2017.

Pages