News and Events

Monday, August 19, 2019

12:00, Monday, August 19
Room 533, Lederle Graduate Reserch Tower
Signatures of strong-field gravity accretion: Relativistic~effects in spectra and polarization from black-hole accretion discs

Friday, July 26, 2019

Speaker: Dr. Cristina Chiappini, Astrophysics Institute Potsdam, Berlin (Germany)
Time:      Friday July 26, 12:00 noon
Room:    LGRT 533 (New Conference Room)

Friday, June 21, 2019

The public is invited to observe sunrise and sunset of the longest day of the year among the standing stones of the UMass Amherst Sunwheel on Friday June 21 at 5:00 a.m. and 7:30 p.m. UMass Amherst astronomer Stephen Schneider will explain the astronomical cause of the solstice at the hour-long gatherings and answer questions.

More info:
Facebook Event:
Please contact Janet Lathrop with any questions: 413/545-2989;

Wednesday, June 12, 2019

Please join us Wednesday, June 12, at 1:00PM for Brandt Gaches’ Dissertation Defense, “The Impact of Protostellar Feedback on Astrochemistry” in LGRT 1033. There will be a small reception in after the event.

Thursday, May 30, 2019

Congratulations to our colleague Robert Gutermuth on his promotion to Associate Research Professor!

Monday, May 20, 2019

We are offering three asynchronous, online summer courses, beginning Monday, May 20 to Friday, June 28th.

Monday, May 20, 2019

We are excited to welcome this year's undergrad FCAD summer research assistants. The program officially starts Monday 5/20, with a welcoming reception at 10:30 - 11:00 a.m. in the new lounge (Lederle Tower 531)

Thursday, May 9, 2019

This Thursday afternoon (May 9, 4pm in LGRT 1033), a special guest panel from the Event Horizon Telescope (EHT) team will present the first picture of a black hole in a series of short talks followed by Q&A. Panelists include: Lindy Blackburn (CFA), Dominic Pesce (CfA), and Sara Issaoun from (Radboud U). The panel will be hosted by Gopal Narayanan (UMass Amherst).

Friday, April 26, 2019

Congratulations to 2019 Barry Goldwater Scholarship recipients: Zoe Kearney (UMass Amherst), Kenneth Lin (UMass Amherst), Ryan McMillan (Amherst College), and Olivia Cooper (Smith College). Goldwater Foundation Scholarships are awarded to sophomore or junior students who intend to persue a research career in natural science, mathematics or engineering.

Tuesday, April 16, 2019

Congratulations to Professor Peter Schloerb, who won the 2019 College of Natural Sciences Outstanding Service/Engagement Achievement Award! A complete list of Astronomy faculty awards can be found here.